Nanyang Technological University

Nanyang Technological University, green roof



Nanyang Avenue, Singapore

Region: Asia

  • Overall score
  • Teaching
  • International outlook
  • Industry income
  • Research
  • Citations

A message from Nanyang Technological University

A research-intensive public university, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) in Singapore has 32,500 undergraduates and post graduates at its four colleges of Engineering, Business, Science, and Humanities, Arts, & Social Sciences. Its  medical school, the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, is set up jointly with Imperial College London.

NTU’s Nanyang Business School is consistently rated one of Asia's best business schools with The Economist ranking its MBA programme top in Singapore for nine straight years. Its College of Engineering has a research output among the top three universities globally and is the 5th most cited in the world. The College of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences covers a broad range of disciplines with its premier Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information; a fast-growing humanities and social sciences school; and Singapore's first professional art school offering degree courses in art, design and interactive digital media. The College of Science, with award-winning faculty and world class laboratories, runs Singapore's only direct honours bachelor's degree programmes in the biological, physical and mathematical sciences.

Hub of education and research
NTU is also home to several world-class autonomous institutes - the Earth Observatory of Singapore (EOS), the Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering (SCELSE), the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) and the National Institute of Education (NIE) - and various leading research centres such as the Nanyang Environment & Water Research Institute (NEWRI), Energy Research Institute @NTU (ERIAN) and Institute on Asian Consumer Insight (ACI).

Top International Faculty
A melting pot of international talents, NTU's multidisciplinary learning environment is supported by top-notch faculty, led by NTU President Professor Bertil Andersson, a world-renowned biochemist, former Trustee of the Nobel Foundation and winner of the prestigious 2010 Wilhelm Exner Medal; and Provost, Professor Freddy Boey, a leading authority in materials science and engineering who invented the world's smallest piezoelectric heart pump in 2003.

Top names at NTU include Professor Kerry Sieh, Director of EOS (former endowed Chair of Tectonics at California Institute of Technology), Professor Stephan Schuster, cluster leader at SCELSE (listed in the TIME's 100 Most Influential People in 2009), Professor Staffan Kjelleberg, Director of SCELSE (co-founder of the Centre for Marine Bio-Innovation at the University of New South Wales), and Professor Bernd Schmitt Executive Director of ACI and Director, Center on Global Brand Leadership Columbia Business School, New York.

Download Pushing Frontiers
A bi-annual magazine showcasing research and innovation at NTU

Download our student magazine here