Cookie policy: This site uses cookies to simplify and improve your usage and experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. For more information on how we use and manage cookies please take a look at our privacy and cookie policies. Your privacy is important to us and our policy is to neither share nor sell your personal information to any external organisation or party; nor to use behavioural analysis for advertising to you.

THE Opinion

Opinion: The perils of REF 'irradiation'

Academics have internalised research assessment to such a degree that the effects may be irreversible, fears Thomas Harrison

  • pause slideshow

More recent opinion

A little lift could help everyone Subscription

24 April 2014 | By

Postgraduate study is a financial struggle for most, and low pay for graduate teaching assistants does nothing to alleviate it

More leaders

Double or quits Subscription

24 April 2014 | By

“It’s an extraordinarily exciting time for all those with a deep intellectual interest in the philosophy of branding.”

More from Laurie Taylor

A cocktail for violence Subscription

24 April 2014

Campus lifestyles and easy access to guns can create the perfect storm, say Deborah D. Rogers and Howard P. Segal

From Where I Sit Archive

More from our columnists

THE podcast: 24 April 2014 issue review

24 Apr 2014

How much should graduate teaching assistants get paid? Should more be done to encourage men on to female-dominated degree courses? And what lies in store in this week’s books section? All this and more in this week’s issue review

THE podcast: 17 April 2014 issue review

17 Apr 2014

The universities that are handing out more firsts and 2:1s than you might expect, our annual higher education financial health check and more are up for discussion this week

More podcasts

Refusing to recognise market is of no use Subscription

24 April 2014

Simon Marginson writes interestingly as ever, here arguing that UK higher education does not (and probably should not or perhaps even cannot) operate in a marketplace…

Transforming the tariff Subscription

24 April 2014

Ucas points have served us well for more than 10 years. The tariff helps universities to attract and make offers to the widest possible range of students, and the inclusion of the…

More letters

Jobs