Cookie policy: This site uses cookies to simplify and improve your usage and experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. For more information on how we use and manage cookies please take a look at our privacy and cookie policies. Your privacy is important to us and our policy is to neither share nor sell your personal information to any external organisation or party; nor to use behavioural analysis for advertising to you.

THE Opinion

Ideology: the enemy of a sane funding system

We must return to first principles to develop a fair method of paying for higher education, argues Bahram Bekhradnia

  • pause slideshow

More recent opinion

The high costs of courage Subscription

31 July 2014 | By

Academic whistleblowers face ostracism and curtailed careers until the system fully recognises the value of more transparency

More leaders

Your doctorate’s been doctored Subscription

31 July 2014 | By

In a shock move, the governors of our university have revoked the honorary doctorate that was bestowed upon the minister for science and universities, David Willetts, shortly after his accession to the post in May 2010

More from Laurie Taylor

Dominic Cummings invites specific criticism: what does he get? Subscription

By

The former adviser to education secretary Michael Gove trawls for constructive criticism on policy, but will not stand for general whining

The Scholarly Web archive

Gut reaction: it all comes out right in the end Subscription

31 July 2014

Brian Bloch on the unexpected success of Darm mit Charme, by Giulia Enders, a book about our intestines

From Where I Sit Archive

More from our columnists

THE podcast: 31 July - 6 August 2014 issue review

31 Jul 2014

University whistleblowers, combined bachelor’s and master’s degrees, jihadist poetry and this week’s books section are discussed in the latest Times Higher Education issue review

THE podcast: 24-30 July 2014 issue review

24 Jul 2014

The row over pensions, the number of universities charging £9,000 tuition fees, grant application success rates, and academics in comic books are all up for discussion this week

More podcasts

Short-changed on pension details Subscription

31 July 2014

I could not help but be drawn to the contribution from the chair of the Employers Pension Forum last week. After all, I had met Anton Muscatelli three-quarters of a year ago in the studio of BBC Two’s Newsnight

Prevent language death Subscription

31 July 2014

In June 2013, the University of Salford announced that it would close its modern languages department. Following the local University and College Union branch’s resolution to support colleagues through…

More letters

Jobs